Ron Cresswell's WOW (Words Of Wisdom)

It's a Web Log. It's just a place where I write down stuff that's useful to me. If it's useful to someone else, that's a bonus.

  • Categories

  • Archives

Task list not sending emails when item created from a workflow

Posted by roncresswell on 29 June, 2011

Here’s an odd one. You have a workflow associated with a list or library, and everything works fine until one day – it stops sending email notifications. Took me a while but eventually I found someone out there in blog-land had the same problem. I haven’t been able to track down where I found it (I’ll update this when I do) but this is the fix that worked for me:

The fix appears to be to turn *off* the email notification setting, wait some time, and then turn it back on again. I tried this in my development machine and could see that it made a difference (not visible through the user interface, so I can’t check the effect in production).

The fix is this:

In the web site, go to the “Tasks” list, and go to “List Settings” > “Advanced Settings” > “E-Mail Notification” and set it to *No*

Wait at least 5 minutes

Go back, and set it back to *Yes*

Wait 5 minutes more and then test.

Update:- This is the forum where the solution (that worked for me in this case) was posted

Leave a comment